Autoroute 2010

I’ve just upgraded to the latest version of Autoroute (it feels weird buying Microsoft products from a retail outlet like Amazon…). As expected, they’ve changed the user interface. Not to make it look like the Office products, though. No, now we have a bunch of colourful buttons making up the standard toolbar instead of something more like the Office ribbon.

But that is of little interest as I can no longer see the zoom feature I’m used to. In AR2007 you had two icons – an arrow icon for selecting an area and a hand for dragging the screen. Normally I would select a rectangle on the map and click it to zoom in. In the new version it appears I can only drag the map and then make use of a slider scale to zoom in and out. Sub-optimal.

I check the options and extra toolbars but nothing shows how to get the old functionality back. Not happy so I search the Internet and find a post that explains all. The right button is now enabled to create the selection rectangle, a much smoother operation but not one I would ever have thought have trying.

Interesting to note that I only checked the product help to confirm what the forum said – it didn’t occur to me to go there first. Who uses the documentation for anything?

Another gripe not so easily resolved is that AR2010 now has proper activation codes. With AR2007, I could install the software on my desktop and netbook from the one product purchase but now I’ll need to buy two licences. I suppose I could install the licenced product on my desktop and just rely on the 60 day trial version on the netbook when I’m travelling.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

