Asian Pumpkin Pie

Inspired by my friend Gavin’s garden produce, I have decided to make a pumpkin pie and finally use up the tin of pulp that’s been taking up space in the cupboard for a while. How long, you ask? Over 6 years, by the look of it.

IMAG0968

The recipe seems simple enough.

What recipe asked for What I had
Sugar Sugar
Salt Salt
(doing well so far)
Ground cinnamon
Ground ginger
Ground cloves
Mixed spice
(although I do have cinnamon, ginger and cloves in various physical states, I couldn’t be bothered to grind them up)
Eggs Eggs
(September? Really? Doesn’t time fly…)
Pumpkin Pumpkin
(see photo above)
Evaporated Milk Evaporated Milk
(Wait, TWO cans? Ah…)
Coconut Milk
(“Can be added to sweet and savoury dishes”. Excellent – nobody will notice. It’s still milk…)
Pastry Pastry
(Freshly defrosted too)

And into the oven…

IMAG0969

I wish I’d paid more attention to the what the recipe said about volume of pie. I ran out of space in the pastry-lined dishes and and so the little guy on the right with the remainder of the mixture has a cheesecake base (that’s crumbled digestive biscuits to you and me).

Hmmm…. interesting smell from the oven…

This entry was posted in Cookery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

