Finally, a phone upgrade

“Early adopter” is not really something you would expect to see on my technology profile.

For Christmas 2011, I was treated to a HTC Radar Windows Phone (a year after Windows 7 came out). It’s a lovely little phone – perfectly pocket- and hand-sized. Still does most of what I need it for although the browser (IE9) tends not to be appreciated by some web sites.

So five years on and for Christmas 2016, I was treated to a Microsoft Lumia 950 (a year after it was released). No HTC this time as they’ve dropped out of the Windows Phone market before making a WP10 product. This phone is definitely not pocket-friendly and the screen size may mean it’s actually in the phablet range.

I’ve added a 64GB MicroSD (which I couldn’t do with the Radar and its laughable unexpandable 6.5GB storage) so I may be retiring my trusty Zune as well, the latter’s 30GB of music and podcasts now easily accommodated. Nine years of stalwart service so I’ll be sad to see it go.

WIN_20170102_00_21_00_Pro

This entry was posted in Windows Phone. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally, a phone upgrade

  1. Samantha Breakwell says:

    I didn’t know my phone would copy the formatting and because I’m on my phone I don’t know how to change it.

    In the text I copied, I think the it’s needs to be its instead. I may be wrong but I think with this particular word you only use an apostrophe for the replacement of ‘it is’.

    which I couldn’t do with the Radar and it’s laughable unexpandable 6.5GB storage)

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

Leave a Reply

